Accounts, User Roles & Permissions
Accounts and User Roles
Once you sign up for Timeline, you are automatically linked to an account. It can be someone else's account, for example, your organization's one, if you followed the link from an email to register, or your own account, which is created automatically when you register directly in Timeline. Account is a representation of the organization, company, or just a group of users. Each user belongs to one and only one account.
There are several ways to join an existing account.
- If you are NOT registered in Timeline, and the account owner adds you to the account, Timeline sends you an automatically generated invitation to register. Once you join Timeline, you are immediately linked to the account.
- If you are registered in Timeline, and the account owner adds you to the account, Timeline sends you an automatically generated invitation to join the account. Every time you sign in, an alert pops up: "You have been invited to join the account XYZ". You can join the account or select to remain an independent account.
- If you are an account owner and want your employees to join the account by domain name automatically, you need to turn on the AutoJoinDomain feature in the Admin application. Please, contact your local ABBYY sales representative or submit a request to the ABBYY Technical support service and request to turn on this feature. After enabling it, an email with a specified domain name will be automatically joined to your organization account once a user signed in to Timeline.
Important. Already registered users are not affected.
If you leave an organization account where you are not an owner, you get your own account.
User permissions are regulated by using Role. A role is a set of permissions for a particular scope. Roles determine what people can see and do in Timeline. There are administrative roles that are designed for people responsible for managing accounts and data. Non-administrative roles let people work with data in Timeline and access analysis results.
|Owner||User who has full control over the account.|
|Admin||Users with this role have access to the ABBYY Timeline account and control (add, remove, delete) other users related to the account and can delete any projects and repositories created within the account. Admin has no rights to delete the owner of the account.|
User – a person having a unique identifier (login) in Timeline. Login is identical to email address. Each user belongs to only one account.
Any user can create their project or repository within the subscription plan of the account they belong to. Being the owner of a project or repository, a user can share it with other users, defining their role.
The project and repository scope roles are used to customize the sharing of projects and the repository.
|Dashboard Viewers||Can only view shared dashboards.|
|Viewer||Can only view analysis results. This role allows you to view data in a project that has been configured by users with higher roles.|
|User||Has Viewer permissions and allows using all types of tools to analyze already uploaded data. This role does NOT allow you to manage the data in the project, for example, upload or delete data or change the sources specified for data upload.|
|Data Managers||Has User permissions and allows you to delete projects and manage data: upload or delete, but does NOT allow changing data sources in the project.|
|Administrators||Has Data manager permissions and allows changing data sources in a project. In addition, the role allows managing project sharing: add, delete and change the roles of any user of the project, except for the Project owner.|
A Project owner has all project scope permissions and can do the following: grant permissions to users in a project, manage data, and specify minimum role to export source data and duplicate projects.
Initially, this is the person who created the project, but the ownership can be transferred to another user. There’s only one owner for a project at a time.
|Data manager||Can view, upload, and delete data, work with tables, and use operations and to-do lists.|
|Admin||Has Data manager permissions, allows changing data sources, adding/removing other users, and changing the roles of any user of the repository, except for the Owner.|
A Repository owner has all repository scope permissions and can grant permissions to users, manage data and repository sharing, and work with tables, operations, and to-do lists.
Initially, this is the person who created the repository, but ownership can be transferred to another user. If the current owner changes their role to any other, the owner will be prompted to specify a user to transfer ownership of the repository.
5/25/2023 10:12:06 AM